The days are getting longer

Slowly and strangely winter is receding from Munich. While I was envious reading about the 70 degree temps experienced back home today, I certainly appreciate our weather here, maybe because it reminds me of the fickle New England climate. Today, it was downright frosty, but the sky was clear and blue. That goes a long way towards feeling spring is close. Even though we are still having very cold days, we are also having snow drops, crocus, and cherry blossoms blooming. Birds are building nests, and things are turning from brown to green. Things are turning hopeful.

Tonight, after we had cleaned up from dinner, I stepped out on our balcony. It had warmed up as the day went on, so it was chilly, but pleasant and clear out there. I looked up and was delighted to see stars. Stars! In the heart of the city! It made me so happy. The church bells started tolling the hour of eight. I stood there in the cool, dark evening, and I felt very thankful.

Leave a comment