Neighborhood sights

It’s been an interesting few days, with some immense highs (talking with friends, both old and new) and blistering lows (scratching the new car after being yelled at in German). I’m trying to keep things in perspective. I’m not always good at perspective. Sometimes it’s hard. Other times it is awe-inspiringly easy.  And some days are just … normal.  I realized that a normal day in my neighborhood sounds and looks very different from days in my previous neighborhoods.  So I thought I’d just snap a couple pics and give some brief commentary to share my new normal with you.

My normal is that we live in a very busy city. And it has many of the city shortfalls: some litter, some tagging and grafitti, some homeless/beggars, and more dog poop on the sidewalks than I ever would have expected. But for all that, it is still relatively clean, very safe, and very accessible. Munich has been called the most northern city in Italy, and I’ve also heard it referred to as the world’s biggest village. It’s funny how small such a large, populated city can feel.

 

One of the most frequent activities here is shopping. Shopping, as I have mentioned, is a near-daily activity, and there is not one place to go for everything. You end up at multiple stores: one for your cheese; one for your bread; one for your meats; and one for your fruits, veggies, and flowers.  I do love the fruit stands, and I can hardly wait to see what they will hold when late summer is here.  Already at the viktualienmarkt munich I have seen zucchini blossoms, okra, cranberries. The prices are hefty, but it’s very pretty to look at, and if you need that odd veg or fruit, chances are it will be there.

This is a very congested city. Lots and lots of people. And many of them use bikes as their primary mode of transport. Even the mail and the pizzas are delivered via bikes. It makes sense and it tickles me.

There is a ton of construction in Munich. The skyline is littered with cranes, and many a sidewalk is slightly disrupted with re-routing fences. There is still construction going on in our building and a temporary fence and (hopefully temporary) port-a-potty just outside our front door. Each time I go to Edeka I have to navigate around large cement trucks (with North Carolina plates on the windshield!). But with all that, I had never seen the fire tool before. I was kind of fascinated.

Ah, the Parkschein.  They are everywhere. They are the equivalent to the US parking meters, but they are far more vague and require an additional parking disc on your dashboard. Prices vary depending on where you are in the city, but on our block — near as we could tell, anyways — it costs 6 euros to park for 24 hours.  Better the 6 euro than a ticket from the aggressive and observant parking wardens, I suppose.

What’s missing from this post is the other pictures that I meant to take involving waste disposal in the big city, but that will have to wait because this is all I’ve got for tonight. I’m tired and my brain hurts. I’ve been studying German and making very small, incremental progress. I am not giving it all I could, but I’m giving it all I can. Tomorrow we are supposed to receive our sea shipment with all of our household goods. I imagine that’s going to keep me busy for a while, but I will try to get pics and update the various social media sites as I am able.

Leave a Reply

