Dig a little deeper, Kim

Clearly, I’m getting a little spun up on some of the details. I do some of my better thinking through writing (list makers unite!!) so this post is going to be a little writing therapy as I explore what’s on my mind. Feel free to skip over it if you’re only really interested in pictures of the kids or descriptions of vacations. Those will be back, I’m sure. But this post ain’t it.

Still with me?  Oh good. I need all the help I can get.  😉

“So, what’s going on, Kim?”

I think part of my problem is that in the beginning I was seeing this move to Germany as very similar to our adventure in Northern Virginia.  This is how I sold the idea to myself and my kids.   Leave Salem with some of our stuff.  Stay for 3 ish years. Come back to Salem with much of our stuff. Easy peasy lemon squeezy, right? 

In truth, I think that’s just about where the similarities end. For Germany,  I can’t take the same stuff there or back. I can’t drive back home to visit on a whim or request. For Virginia, I was able to house hunt over the web and found a place we loved before we even stepped a toe over the Mason Dixie Line.  Turns out it’s not that easy trying to find a home in Munich.

In Virginia I spoke the language. I recognized the foods (not a big deal to most people, but for those of us with serious food allergies, it’s kinda important).  I knew how to tell time, temperature, distance, and shoe size. I was a semi-intelligent woman. In Germany, it will be different. Very different. At least in the beginning.

So while I now recognize that this move will be very different, and thus will need to be managed differently, I also see that Virginia prepared us for this bigger leap. I do not think our family would have had the collective chutzpah to move across the Atlantic and try a whole new culture and language if we hadn’t first moved to a farm house in rural Leesburg. (For those of you new to our family and this blog, you can read about those adventures at Heron Pond Farm.) I don’t think our support network would give their blessings for Munich if they hadn’t seen how wonderful Virginia was for every single member of our family. In Virginia, we not only survived; we thrived. We all made lifelong friends there. We all lived in the moment as much as we could. We tackled a collective bucket list down there that exposed us to so many amazing places and opportunities. We had challenges for sure, and there were tears and frustrations and homesickness too, but looking back, we have some of our fondest memories there.

So over the next two months, I need to develop a strategy for success to get us from here to there. I need to treat ambiguity as a trusted friend. I need to recognize that I cannot control everything at all times and that some things need to unfold in a certain order. And that’s ok. This will be ok.  We will be ok.  We will get it all figured out.

And it will be amazing.

Leave a Reply

