happiness comes in all colors

Two years ago, I was present while a woman spoke about happiness and joy. She started her sermon with talking about colors and how they made her happy.  Bright, bold, playful, and vibrant. While she spoke she played with a lovely, airy, colorful scarf around her neck.  Her talk transitioned to how receiving gifts or gestures can bring happiness, but how giving can provide even more, be it gifts, gestures, emotions, support. Then quite unexpectedly she gave me the scarf from around her neck, and continued her inspirational talk.  I don’t remember her name.  Barbara, maybe?  But I do remember her face, and I recall it every time I wear the scarf.

Today while leaving one meeting and heading to yet another commitment my mind was buzzing with all the things that need to get done, all the action items in my queue.  While I was deep in thought, hustling to my car on busy Lafayette Street, I heard a voice from a distance say, “I love your scarf.”

I looked around to see a young lady with a guitar (or bass?) on her back and purple and blue hair walking in my direction. As she strode towards me, her big boots clomping and her cigarette dropping ash,  she said, “those colors are really great.”

Somewhere in the time it took my brain to form the words thanks, I pivoted towards her and said, “Would you like to have it?” She slowed her stride and looked at me quizzically through her very heavy dark eye make up. I unwrapped the scarf from my neck and told her that a stranger gave it to me years ago and I would love to give it to her if she likes it.  Her face broke out in a broad smile. I wrapped the scarf around her neck, she gave me a big hug and we parted.

My neck felt a little colder, but my heart felt a little warmer.

Leave a Reply

