my time conundrum

It seems lately that there just isn’t enough time in the day to do everything that needs to get done, never mind do the things I would like to do.  And I know full well that I am blessed with a lot more time than my working friends.  Nevertheless, I find myself scrambling to scratch things off the to-do list as more and more items get added.

I am fully committed to being a very active and supportive member of my family, the one who ensures that the household runs smoothly, that there is a healthy, delicious food for the family every day, and that everyone’s respective ducks are lined up in a pretty little row. On top of my SAHM/D responsibilities I’ve committed to improving my health (with better eating and more exercise), improving my community involvement (through the school, artist association, and local politics), and increasing the amount of time I spend practicing my artistic outlets (photography, writing, mandolin). I’ve concluded that there just isn’t enough time in the day.

There may not be enough time, but today I’ve decided that there can be enough forgiveness.  I can forgive myself when the halloween bins remain in the hall for a week if it means I can catch up with my mom after weeks apart.  I can forgive myself that the laundry isn’t done if it means I can sit down with my son and watch an episode of his favorite show.  I can forgive myself for a half-assed/photo-less blog post if it means that I can walk with my daughter to her piano lesson. I can forgive myself for a sink full of dishes if it means I can spend time with my husband, rubbing his pained hands and talking with him about his day.  And I can forgive myself for slacking on the diet and exercise when we had a house full of company for a couple weeks. I will get back to it. After all, there’s always time.

Leave a Reply

